• Home
  • Articles
  • Swimming and Diving Rules Committee Welcomes New Members (1)

Swimming and Diving Rules Committee Welcomes New Members (1)

By NFHS on March 09, 2016 swimming & diving article Print

NFHS rules writing committees consist of experts in the given sport, and each committee member is nominated by state associations, as is the chairperson who guides the members through their work. Each committee member represents one of the eight sections as divided by the NFHS Bylaws. To allow for equal representation, there are also members of the NFHS Coaches Association and the NFHS Officials Association on the committee. Each committee member serves a four-year term.

The NFHS welcomes also welcomes three new members to the committee, Pete Foley, Nick Lasker, and Jeff Meister.

Peter Foley, Section 1

A native of Portland, Maine, Peter Foley is a graduate of Kent State University where he was an All Mid-American Conference swimming selection. After a year as a graduate assistant at the University of Maryland, Foley assumed the head swimming coach position at Niagara University in 1968. At the conclusion of that school year, he entered officer’s candidate school in Newport, Rhode Island, and spent three years on active duty with the Navy. In addition to his active service, Foley spent an additional 26 years in the Naval Reserves retiring with the rank of captain.  Upon his release from active duty in 1972, he began a 35-year career with the Weston (Massachusetts) Public Schools, initially as a middle school physical education teacher and the last 26 years as the system’s athletic director.

Foley started and has coached Weston’s swimming team for his entire career, leading his teams to multiple state championships as well as three NISCA national dual meet championships.  After his retirement in 2007, Foley became active as both a high school and collegiate swimming official. He has served as a Massachusetts sectional and state meet director for the past eight years and is currently beginning his 41st year on the MIAA state swimming committee. In addition, Foley is an adjunct professor at Springfield College where he supervises student teachers.  Foley resides in Framingham, Massachusetts, with his wife Marilyn.

Nick Lasker, Section 6  

Nick Lasker is an associate executive director with the Arkansas Activities Association (AAA). His responsibilities include serving as the liaison for coaches education and the Arkansas High School Athletic Directors Association. He is the rules interpreter for the sports of cross country, swimming/diving, track and volleyball. He is also is the chair of the NFHS Coaches Education Committee.  Lasker has served in his present position with the AAA for five years. Previously, he was a principal in Texas for seven years, and a teacher, coach and administrator in Arkansas for 15 years.  He has been married to his wife, Karen, for 26 years and they have one son, Alfred.

Jeff Meister, Section 7

Meister will be serving a one-year term, replacing former Section 7 representative Kristine Palle who has transitioned to chair of the committee.  Meister is an athletic director at Punahou School in Honolulu, Hawaii. He began his coaching career in 1980, and his teams have won numerous state swimming and diving championships.  He was recognized as the Section 7 Boys and Girls Coach of the Year by the NFHS  Coaches Association two times. In 2002, he was presented the Outstanding Coaches Award by the Hawaii Athletic Director’s Association (HIADA) and in 2015, Meister was presented the Outstanding Athletic Administrators Service award by HIADA.  Meister has served as the Hawaii’s coordinator for swimming and diving since 1998, and has been the meet director for the Hawaii High School Athletic Association’s championships for more than 10 years.  He lives in Kailua, Hawaii, with his wife, Joan, and two daughters, Madison and Mallory.

The 2016 Swimming and Diving Rules Committee Meeting will take place March 21-23 in Indianapolis, Indiana.