• Home
  • Articles
  • Track and Field Rules Committee Welcomes New Members - 2017

Track and Field Rules Committee Welcomes New Members - 2017

By Lindsey Atkinson, CIC, RAA on May 04, 2017 Track & Field/Cross Country article Print

NFHS rules writing committees consist of experts in the given sport.  Each committee member is nominated by state associations, as is the chairperson, who guides the members through their work.  Each of the NFHS’s eight sections are represented on the given rules committee.  To allow for equal representation, there is also a member of the NFHS Coaches Association and the NFHS Officials Association on each rules committee.  Each committee member serves a four-year term.

The NFHS is pleased to welcome three new members of the Track & Field and Cross Country Rules Committee: Paul Wheeler, Daniel Dornfeld and Russell Schreckenghost.


Paul Wheeler, Section 1, established the Lyndon, Vermont Youth Track and Field Program in 1984 and served as coach until 1990.  Wheeler continued his coaching career at the Lyndon Institute in Vermont as the varsity boys and girls track and field coach from 1999-2006.  As coach, Wheeler’s Lyndon Institute won the Vermont Principals’ Association (VPA) Division 2 Boys State Championship in 1999, 2000 and 2002.  Wheeler has been a member of the VPA Track and Field Committee since 2004 and currently serves as Chair.  In 2012, Wheeler was named Vermont State Athletic Director’s Association Athletic Director of the Year as the Director of Athletics and Student Activities at Lyndon Institute where he has served in this position since 2003 and as a Senior Level Administrator since 1995.  Wheeler is the current president of the Vermont State Athletic Director’s Association and previously held that position from 2013-2015. 


Daniel Dornfeld, Section 5, has been involved with track and field, as an official, since 1978, working at all levels of track and field in the state of Minnesota.  Currently, Dornfeld is the Head Rules Interpreter and Coordinator of Officials for the Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL).  Some of his duties include assisting in the orchestration of the MSHSL State Meets in both track and field as well as in cross country.  In addition, Dornfeld is also in charge of all track and field official's clinics with the aim of focusing on the techniques of officiating.  At the University of Minnesota, Dornfeld is one of the lead officials for track and field/cross country and at the Division III level he serves as a starter and referee for many of the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference competitions.  Dornfeld is also a USATF Master Certified Official.


Russell Schreckenghost, NFHS Officials Association, currently serves as the Associate Executive Director for the Alaska School Activities Association.  He has been involved with Track and Field for 48 years as an athlete, coach and official.  Schreckenghost officiates at the youth, middle school, and high school levels in Anchorage and around Alaska.  He is also the Meet Referee and Tournament Director for the Special Olympics Alaska Track and Field Summer Games.


The new members take over for Steve Wysowski (Section 1), Tracey Heisler, (Section 5) and John Dixon (NFHS Officials Association).  Each of the outgoing committee members served the membership well.

The 2017 Track & Field and Cross Country Rules Committee Meeting will take place June 12-14 in Indianapolis, IN.