Soccer Rules Interpretations - 2016-17

By NFHS on August 10, 2016 soccer

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.
Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2016

Soccer Rules Book Correction: Page 28, 4.3 Penalty: Illegally Equipped Players (18-1-1s); Improperly Equipped Players (18-1-1t)

Page 85, Soccer Rules Comparison Chart: Opposite Stutter Step remove “not permitted”; add Permitted, kicker cannot stop completely.

Clarification of Deliberate Play: An act in which a player chooses to act, regardless of the outcome of that action. This deliberate act is neither a reaction nor a reflex. A deliberate action may result in the opponent benefiting from the action (e.g., a deliberate, but misplayed ball that goes directly to an opponent). A reaction or reflex may result in that player benefiting from the action (e.g., a ball inadvertently contacting the arm and falling directly to the feet).

RULES VIDEO CORRECTION: Q&A session. The question was asked about an ejected coach. The response given is incorrect. The ejected coach may not remain in the stadium. He/she must leave the vicinity of the playing field. This is interpreted as meaning “out of sight and hearing” to the team bus, car, parking lot.

SITUATION 1: If a player was apparently injured when fouled and a caution or disqualification resulted, can the player be evaluated by the referee for a possible injury and remain in the game? RULING: Stopping the clock for an injury is key. Here the clock was not stopped for an injury. If the clock is stopped for another reason other than an injury and then it is noticed there is a possible injury to a field player or goalkeeper, the field player or goalkeeper would not have to leave the game unless the coach and/or medical personnel were beckoned onto the field. (3-3-2b2)

SITUATION 2: During the game, while the ball is in play, A1 wears an electronic heart monitor on his/her chest under the jersey. RULING: Legal. (12-8-1)

SITUATION 3: Can a player wear a solo shot tag for a camera, either on the arm or around the waist during the game? RULING: The solo shot camera tag or any other tag cannot be worn during the game as it would require the wearing of a hard and unyielding item. (4-2-1)

SITUATION 4: A2, taking a penalty kick, approaches the ball and then stops abruptly. He/she then (a) kicks the ball and scores; (b) kicks the ball over the goal; (c) kicks the ball and it rebounds from the goalkeeper; (d) kicks the ball and it is saved and held by the goalkeeper; (e) kicks the ball and it is deflected over the goal line by the goalkeeper. RULING: In (a), retake the kick; (b) goal kick; (c) indirect free kick for defending team; (d) play continues; (e) indirect free kick for defending team. (14-1-4)

SITUATION 5: A2, in an offside position, receives the ball from a misplayed clearance by B2. Should the attacker be penalized? RULING: No. A2 received the ball from a deliberate play by B2 and even though A2 is in an offside position and gained an advantage from being in that position, he/she is not offside as it was last played by a defender in a deliberate manner. (11-1-4)

SITUATION 6: A1 takes a shot on goal. With the goalkeeper out of position, B1 makes a deliberate save and the ball rebounds directly to A2, who is in an offside position. RULING: Player A2 received the ball directly from a save, was in active play and gained an advantage by being in that position. Offside. (11-1-4)