Soccer Rules Interpretations - 2017-18

By NFHS on August 08, 2017 soccer Print

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set
aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.
Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2017

2017-18 NFHS Soccer Rules Book Corrections:

Page 23, 4-1-1i(3): 4-1-1h(1) should be 4-1-1i(1).

Page 26, 4.1.1 SITUATION Q RULING: (a) illegal.

Page 64, 13-1-2: 12-2-3 should be 13-2-3.

Page 77, State Association Adoptions: 1. 4-2-1h (EXCEPTION 3) should be 4-2-1h (EXCEPTION 2).

Page 78, Comments on the Rules: 4-4-1e should be 4-1-1e.

Webinar Dates: Fall – September 14, 2017 at 2:00 p.m. EST; Spring – April 5, 2018 at 2:00 p.m. EDT

The Rule Proposal Form is now openfor use.

SITUATION 1: If a player was apparently injured when fouled and a caution or disqualification resulted, can the player be evaluated by the referee for a possible injury and remain in the game? RULING: Stopping the clock for an injury is key. In this situation, the clock was not stopped for an injury. If the clock is stopped for another reason other than an injury and then it is noticed there is a possible injury to a field player or goalkeeper, the field player or goalkeeper would not have to leave the game. [3-3-2b(2)]

SITUATION 2: During the game, while the ball is in play, A1 wears an electronic heart monitor on his/her chest, under the jersey. RULING: Legal. (12-8-1e)

SITUATION 3: Can a player wear a solo shot tag for a camera, either on the arm or around the waist during the game? RULING: The solo shot camera tag or any other tag cannot be worn during the game as it would require the wearing of a hard and unyielding item. (4-2-1)

SITUATION 4: A2, taking a penalty kick, approaches the ball and then stops abruptly. He/she then (a) kicks the ball and scores; (b) kicks the ball over the goal; (c) kicks the ball and it rebounds from the goalkeeper; (d) kicks the ball and it is saved and held by the goalkeeper; (e) kicks the ball and it is deflected over the goal line by the goalkeeper. RULING: In (a), retake the kick; (b) goal kick; (c) indirect free kick for defending team; (d) play continues; (e) indirect free kick for the defending team. (14-1-4)

SITUATION 5: A2, in an offside position, receives the ball from a misplayed clearance by B2. Should the attacker be penalized? RULING: No. A2 received the ball from a deliberate play by B2 and even though A2 is in an offside position and gained an advantage from being in that position, he/she is not offside as it was last played by a defender in a deliberate manner. (11-1-4)

SITUATION 6: A1 takes a shot on goal. With the goalkeeper out of position, B1 makes a deliberate save and the ball rebounds directly to A2, who is in an offside position. RULING: Offside. Player A2 received the ball
directly from a save, was in active play and gained an advantage by being in that position. (11-1-4)

SITUATION 7: A1, in her defensive third of the field, passes a ball across midfield toward the goal. A2, in an offside position at the time of the pass, runs toward the ball causing goalkeeper B to come out of the goal area to defend the pass. There are no other players from Team A advancing toward the ball, but there appears to be an impending collision between A2 and the goalkeeper. RULING: Offside. An indirect free kick for Team B shall be awarded where A2 was when she became involved with active play by interfering with the goalkeeper.