Volleyball Rules Interpretations - 2016-17

By NFHS on August 10, 2016 volleyball Print

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.
Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2016

Corrections to Rules Book: (Underlining shows additions; strikethrough shows deletions.)

Page 31, PENALTIES 1 and 2 (8 7-1-4)

Corrections to Case Book and Manual: Page 38, SITUATION 9.7.4, COMMENT: A point is awarded to the opponent (Team S) An unnecessary delay is assessed (Team R)

Corrections to Preseason Guide: Page 5, Pre-Season Guide Mechanigram reverse positon of R1 and R2.

SITUATION 1: The head coach of School A is considering purchasing uniforms that he/she wants to use as solid-colored jerseys and contacts the state association for confirmation of compliance before purchasing. The jerseys are a tone-on-tone combination using a camo design. RULING: The jerseys are not in compliance with the requirements of a solid-color uniform top due to the use of tone-on-tone; two tones are considered two colors. COMMENT: This uniform top would be compliant as a standard jersey. (4-2-1,2)

SITUATION 2: The coach of School A contacts the state association staff to confirm that for the solid-colored jersey, he/she may have the mascot reference (tiger head) on the back of the uniform top in a space of 4 x 4 inches and have the mascot name, “TIGERS” on the front of the solid-colored jersey. RULING: Compliant as a solid-color uniform top. (4-2-2)

SITUATION 3: The coach from Team S submits the lineup with No. 12 listed as both a starting position player and as the libero for the set. The second referee, in checking the lineup, notices the error. The second referee notifies the Team S coach and explains the options to correct this clerical error immediately before play begins. The coach decides to retain No. 12 as the position player and have a different player listed and become the libero for this set. Team S is charged with an unnecessary delay as a new libero was listed to correct the clerical error. RULING: Incorrect procedure. COMMENT: There is no unnecessary delay as this is considered an allowed correction of a clerical error. This is not considered a “redesignation” of the libero. (7-1-4)

SITUATION 4: A tossed ball for serve contacts a backboard or its supports hanging in a vertical position over the serving area. This is a service fault and the first referee signals an illegal hit, Signal #3. There is no re-serve. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: This is considered as an illegal service during one team’s term of service. (8-1-6, Officials Manual)

SITUATION 5: At what point does the penalty change from “unnecessary delay” to “illegal alignment” for an illegal replacement. RULING: The penalty changes with the whistle and signal for serve; this is for the libero and replacement only. (10-4-1)