Volleyball Rules Interpretations - 2017-18

By NFHS on August 03, 2017 volleyball

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.
Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2017

2017-18 NFHS Volleyball Rules Book Corrections: (Underlining shows additions; strikethrough shows deletions.)

Page 52, 2017 Points of Emphasis: “The assistant coach may also stand at the bench to great greet a replaced player…”

2017-18 NFHS Volleyball Case Book and Officials Manual Corrections: Page 8, 2.3.1 SITUATION D: Team R’s second contact: (a) lands in the bleachers on Team SR’s side of the net;…; Page 28, 7.1.4 SITUATION A: Prior to the second set,…(b) two minutes 30 seconds remaining…; Page 77: … After the set score has been confirmed, the second referee gives the end-of-set signal (No. 23 22) to the first referee….

2017-18 NFHS Volleyball PowerPoint Corrections: Slide #24: The words “if necessary” have been deleted and replaced with moved and replaced with “for the net fault” the words “committing the net fault” inserted.

SITUATION 1: Team S’s libero, who is wearing a solid-colored gold jersey, becomes injured and cannot continue to play. The coach redesignates a legal player on the bench as libero for the remainder of the set for the injured libero. The redesignated libero is wearing a solid-colored green jersey with a unique number (not worn by any teammate). The teammates are wearing white jerseys. The referee allows the redesignated libero to play. RULING: The referee’s decision is correct. The redesignated libero must wear a uniform jersey that is immediately recognized from all angles as being in clear contrast to and distinct from the other numbers of the team. It does not have to be the same color as the original (injured) libero. (4-2-2)

SITUATION 2: During a set, the second referee utilizes one or more techniques of preventive officiating, none of which delay the resumption of play but merely keep the play moving and avoid unneeded penalties. RULING: Preventive officiating should be used. However, guidance as to how much is considered appropriate and even in what areas of the rules preventive officiating is acceptable should be provided through the respective state association. (5-1-2, Officials Manual)

SITUATION 3: The first referee whistles to interrupt play due to an injury and signals replay. The injured player is a position player. The first referee follows the regular injury protocol, which could allow for a time-out for assessment and treatment/recovery of the injured player and/or a substitution only for the injured player could be made. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: An injury to a player creates an exception to the replay rule. The rule is not intended to disadvantage a team due to an injury. (9-8-2, 11-4)

SITUATION 4: The first referee whistles to interrupt play due to an injury and signals replay. The injured player is the libero. The first referee follows the regular injury protocol for timeout to assess and treat/allow recovery of the injured player. a) The libero may be replaced by the player for whom the libero had replaced. b) Once the legal replacement has entered the set, the coach may now request and be granted a substitute for that player. RULING: a) Correct procedure; b) incorrect procedure. COMMENT: The rule does not permit a substitution during a replay. However, if there is an injury that interrupts play, an exception is made by the first referee for only the injured player. (9-8-2, 11-4)

SITUATION 5: The first referee whistles to interrupt play due to an injury and signals replay. The first referee follows the regular injury protocol, which could permit a time-out for assessment and treatment/recovery of the injured player and/or a substitution only for the injured player, if a position player, and legal replacement for an injured libero. During this same interruption of play and before the first referee has signaled for serve, the head coach of the team with the injured player requests a substitution for another player who is not injured. The substitution is denied. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: The only exception to permit a legal substitution or legal replacement on a replay is for the injured player involved. (9-8-2, 11-4)

SITUATION 6: The first referee has whistled to interrupt play and signals a replay due to an injured player. The head coach, while assessing the injured player, wants to have a check of his/her service order. RULING: Incorrect procedure. COMMENT: No request for a time-out, service order, lineup, substitution, libero replacement, etc. may be recognized on a replay until after the rally is completed. The only exception is due to the injury of a player and play is interrupted by the first referee under Rule 11-4. (9-8-2, 11-4)