• Home
  • Articles
  • 12 Leaders in Activity Programs to Receive 2016 NFHS Citations

12 Leaders in Activity Programs to Receive 2016 NFHS Citations

By NFHS on January 22, 2016 nfhs news Print

Twelve leaders in high school activity programs across the country have been selected to receive National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Citations.

An award designed to honor individuals who have made contributions to the NFHS, state high school associations, athletic director and coaching professions, the officiating avocation and fine arts/performing arts programs, the NFHS Citation is one of the most highly regarded achievements in high school athletics and performing arts.

The 2016 NFHS Citation recipients will receive their awards July 1 at the 97th annual NFHS Summer Meeting in Reno, Nevada.  

Eight of the 12 award winners represent NFHS-member state high school associations. The other four Citation recipients represent NFHS professional organizations for officials, coaches, music leaders and speech/debate/theatre directors.

The eight state association recipients are Nina Van Erk, Section 1, former executive director of the New York State Public High School Athletic Association and current executive director of the NYSPHSAA Section 8 office; Butch Cope, Section 2, associate commissioner of the Kentucky High School Athletic Association; Gene Menees, Section 3, assistant executive director of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association; Gina Mazzolini, Section 4, assistant director of the Michigan High School Athletic Association; Kevin Merkle, Section 5, associate director of the Minnesota State High School League; Peter Contreras, Section 6, former assistant athletic director of the Texas University Interscholastic League; Marc Ratner, Section 7, commissioner of the Southern Nevada Officials Association for the Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association; and Brad Garrett, Section 8, assistant executive director of the Oregon School Activities Association.

Other Citation recipients are Harold Cooper, Official Citation recipient, football and basketball official, Jackson, Mississippi; Richard Robertson, Coach Citation recipient, retired basketball coach, Andalusia (Alabama) High School; Jay Dunnahoo, Music Citation recipient, executive secretary of the Texas Music Adjudicators Association, Kerrville, Texas; and Pam McComas, Speech/Debate/Theatre Citation recipient, director of forensics at Topeka (Kansas) High School.