Performing Arts COVID-19 Resources

By NFHS on May 29, 2020 speech debate & theatre directors & judges article Print

With the ever-changing situation and plentiful school closings occurring many Performing Arts classrooms are struggling with how to legally operating e-learning. Below is a listing of national resources that you can use and share with your schools. 

 

NFHS Resources

COVID-19 Aerosol Study (NEW): https://www.nfhs.org/articles/unprecedented-international-coalition-led-by-performing-arts-organizations-to-commission-covid-19-study/

Guidance for a Return to High School Marching Band (NEW): https://www.nfhs.org/articles/guidance-for-a-return-to-high-school-marching-band/

Distributed Music Recordings: https://www.nfhs.org/articles/distributed-music-recordings/

Distributed Literature Recordings: https://www.nfhs.org/articles/distributed-literature-recordings/

Instrument Cleaning Guidelines: https://www.nfhs.org/articles/covid-19-instrument-cleaning-guidelines/

NFHS and Varsity Performing Arts to offer FREE Marching Band Show Program (NEW INFO): https://www.nfhs.org/articles/nfhs-and-varsity-performing-arts-to-offer-free-marching-band-show-program-for-schools-all-across-america/

Copyright Guidance: https://www.nfhs.org/articles/copyright-covid-19-guidance/

Understanding Copyright and Compliance Course (FREE): https://www.nfhslearn.com/courses/understanding-copyright-and-compliance

COVID-19 Podcast: https://nfhsperformingarts.buzzsprout.com/274814/3264598-the-stage-the-official-nfhs-performing-arts-podcast-10-dr-james-weaver-nfhs-alan-greiner-ihsma-covid-19-guidance-copyright-distributing-music-resources

Press Release (Music Publishers Allow for Educational Use of Copyrighted Music): https://www.nfhs.org/articles/music-publishers-agree-to-allow-educational-use-of-copyrighted-music/

 

Educational Theatre Association (EdTA) Resources

Creating Online Learning: https://learn.schooltheatre.org/resources-for-creating-online-learning

Click to Teach/Click to Learn: https://learn.schooltheatre.org/click-to-teach-lesson-plans

Support for Freelance Artists: https://covid19freelanceartistresource.wordpress.com/

 

National Association for Music Education (NAfME) Resources

Arts Education is Essential: https://www.nfhs.org/articles/nfhs-joins-52-other-national-organizations-to-support-arts-education-as-essential-for-students-during-covid-19-pandemic/

Letter Writing Campaign: https://www.votervoice.net/NAFME/campaigns/73881/respond

COVID-19 Resources and News: https://nafme.org/covid-19/

Free Professional Development Clock Hours - Articles for Teaching Online during COVID-19: https://nafme.org/community/elearning/free-nafme-academy-webinars/

Bridging the Gap: Teaching and Learning Music Online Webinar: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CSUaMeIyCVc&feature=youtu.be

Virtual Learning Resources for Music Educators: https://nafme.org/my-classroom/virtual-learning-resources-for-music-educators/

NAfME Online Professional Learning Community: https://nafme.org/my-classroom/nafme-online-professional-learning-community/

 

National Speech & Debate Association (NSDA) Resources

Virtual Learning Resources: https://speechanddebate.org/virtual-learning-resources 

NSDA COVID19 Updates: https://www.speechanddebate.org/coronavirus/

2020 Nationals Information: https://www.speechanddebate.org/nationals/  

 

Music For All

Resources for Music Educators and Distance Learning: https://education.musicforall.org/

 

Destination Imagination

Activities to Keep Students Engaged While at Home

STEAM Activities - DI and Disney: https://www.destinationimagination.org/blog/steam-activities-get-creative-with-di-disney/

STEAM Activities - Match Mine Plus Yours: https://www.destinationimagination.org/blog/virtual-steam-challenge-match-mine-plus-yours/

STEAM Activities - Spaghetti Tower: https://www.destinationimagination.org/blog/spaghetti-tower-steam-challenge/

Articles

Five Team Building Activities for Students: https://www.destinationimagination.org/blog/5-team-building-activities-for-students/

How to Get Your Team Members or Students to Project Their Voices: https://www.destinationimagination.org/blog/how-to-get-your-team-members-to-project-their-voices/

 

Drum Corps International (DCI) and Marching Arts Education

DCI Summer of Learning: https://marchingartseducation.com/dci-summer-of-learning-2020/