• Home
  • Articles
  • Randy Allen: National 11-Player Football Coach of the Year (2017-18)

Randy Allen: National 11-Player Football Coach of the Year (2017-18)

By Hannah Wishart on April 23, 2019 coaches Print

The NFHS is proud to name Randy Allen of Highland Park High School in Dallas, Texas as the 2017-18 11-Player Football Coach of the Year!


As a 44-year veteran of football, Randy Allen is the example of a strong coach. His program is known to churn out disciplined leaders who know the value of teamwork. Coach Allen runs a tight ship and the NFHS is proud to name him the 2017-18 NATIONAL Football Coach of the Year.Name: Betty Wroubel

School: Highland Park High School, Dallas, Texas

2017-18 Win/Loss: 15-1 | State Championships: 3

Coaching Highlights: Don Shula NFL Coach of the Year 2017, 2006 Bayard H. Friedman Hero Award as Coach of the Year, 2008 Dallas Cowboys Coach of the Week for Highland Park HS Football's 700th win, 2009 Tom Landry Coach of the Year Award, 2014 FCA Grant Teaff Lifetime Achievement Award and FCA Coach of the Year Award, 2016 AFCA Power of Influence Award, 2017 Dallas Morning News 5A Coach of the Year, 2017 Southern Methodist Distinguished Alumni Award, 2005 4A Coach of the Year by Texas Sports Writers, Gerald Ford Texas High School Coach of the Year, and also inducted into the Big Country Hall of Fame and the THSCA Hall of Honor

Coach Allen has the 4th most wins of any football coach in the history of Texas High School Football. He has the 2nd most wins of any active Texas High School Football Coach. His teams won the Texas State Championship in 2005, 2016 and 2017.

Philosophy of Athletics

It is the aim of the HPISD Athletic Department to maintain a sound and wholesome sports program that will challenge the will to win, the competitive spirit, and the desire to excel - all typical and positive traits in the average youth. A well-organized program under the guidance of outstanding coaches will make a lasting contribution toward disciplined minds, healthy bodies, personal integrity, leadership and training, and teamwork.

See all of the 2017-18 National Coach of the Year recipients by viewing our press release.